A look at Psalms 23

Hello friends and family. I was drawn to this scripture this morning. I had to sit down and think about it. The Psalms are very interesting to read and apply to ones’ life. My reading comes from the Revised Standard Version (RSV) And I will copy over here for you.

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want; he makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters; he restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.

The prepares a table before in the presence of my enemies; thou anointest my head with oil, my cup overflows. surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.”

I like this passage for so many reasons. There is three reason why I like this passage and I want to share it with you. First is verse 1-3.  “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want he makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters;”  I realized that sometimes I need to slow down and take a quiet time and actually read the bible. Talk with the Lord and give it all to him. That he leads me to still waters so that I can drink all that I need and all that I want. Verse 3 goes on saying” he restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” I truly believe right now he is working on restoring my soul and leading me on the path of righteousness.

The second point I like to point out is from verse 4. “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff; they comfort me.” As I feel inside that I know I came from a place that was killing me on the inside and not living for eternal living. I know now where I am heading to. I don’t fear evil cause he is with me. He is always with me and that comforts me knowing that I can just stop and talk to him.

The last point I want to make with Psalms 23 is from the couple verse. It actually is the last two words in verse 6. “For ever” What does that look like. The child inside me has a hard time knowing for ever. The adult part knows that is traveling to the moon and back several times.

I pray that you are the by still waters filling yourself up with things you need at that exact moment. Have a wonderful day.

 

Courtney Elizabeth

 

Leave a Reply

